Happy Independence Day! I hope everyone had a delightful day full of loved ones, fun and of course FREEDOM šŸ˜‰ This was Eisley’s second 4th of July celebration, although they yielded a stark contrast to one another. Last year we spent the evening in a boozy, packed party in a chic home on the shores of La Jolla. This year Eisley fell asleep around 9:00 PM and we missed the opportunity to even see fireworks. The day was not spent in vain however. We were able to spend some quality time with our favorite South African girl Derralyn.

20140704-224739-82059118.jpg
Derralyn and her husband James are like family to us which is great since all of their actual relatives still live on another continent. We’ve had the pleasure of spending most holidays with them over these past two years of friendship. Despite James’ absence for work purposes, our family was lucky enough to snag up the company of Dez (Derralyn’s nickname). We passed the day lounging on the crowded, sunny beach in O.B.

20140704-225136-82296308.jpg
Eisley was mostly happy during our beach trip, especially while playing in the ocean with her daddy for the first time. It was hilarious to see the waves push her about and eventually swallow her whole. She seemed shocked by the experience at first, but soon her guileful smirk appeared and she charged into the water. It is my most sincere hope that she braves the oceans and finds a deep longing to be in it. It has been one of the main goals in my heart to help my child(ren) become fearless. Or at least, unhindered by the fears that have always held me back. At this age, to see her bravely trudge into the shallow waves that cover her head.. I am in awe.

20140704-230442-83082160.jpg
Here is a sweaty selfie. We walked so much today I have a huge sunburn (which I never usually get) and blisters in the bottoms of my feet. Leather flip flops plus long city walks are not a good mix.
To end this post I would like to say that although I may not be the most patriotic of people, I am truly grateful to the men and women who give over their lives to protect us. I love my home. I thank God for the vast beauty this land has to offer. No matter where the journey of life may lead me, America the Beautiful will always be my home.

