I had to slow myself down today, despite the activity that surrounds the holidays, and moving, AND having a child, and remind myself, “Holy Toledo… the new year is just a few days away!” The years just seem to be going by more quickly and I find that I haven’t done the things I dreamed I would be doing. When I think of that, I just can’t seem to find a good enough reason for why they are still undone. I can’t even tell you the innumerable amounts of television shows that I have watch start to finish. Time after time, day after day, just sitting on my couch wasting the precious days. I remember the days when you couldn’t keep me inside. It felt like a crime with the wide world outside. I think when it comes down to what I want my “resolution” to be this new year, it can be summed up into one word: More. I want to go for walks with my dog and scratch his belly more. I want to play with my daughter and stare at her amazingness more. I want to take spontaneous getaways and appreciate my lover more. I want to stand outside in God’s green earth and shout my love for him more. I want to give of myself more, especially to people and causes that I’ve purposefully overlooked. If I drop some pounds this year, kudos to me. But after 21 years, I’m finally over myself. I’m only ashamed that it has taken so long to turn my eyes from the inside out. The best part about not looking at myself? I truly feel pretty for the first time.
These “resolutions” might not be easy, but they are entirely worth it. Now I’m no fool, I know that come January 1st, a switch won’t be hit and everything will magically work and everyone will be healthy, and people will fulfill their dreams, so that is why we should just start loving and living life right now! After all, “yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift! That’s why it is called the present.”
Share your New Years resolutions of how you’re going to make 2014 your best!

“To see things thousands of miles away, things hidden behind walls and within rooms, things dangerous to come to, to draw closer, to see and be amazed.”

